Ramsgate - Home / Alan Turvey Trophy 1st Round

Final Score: Sittingbourne 2 Ramsgate 1

Played 13th September 2016


Following an impressive "bodies-on-the-line" defensive performance at Hastings and a rather indifferent outing on a rain-affected, greasy pitch at Whyteleafe, the Brickies needed to get back to winning ways again. If there's one thing that this young squad has demonstrated in recent months is their bouncebackability!!! 

The Brickies lined up against Ramsgate with Danny Rumbol coming in for Dan Tanner (rested) and Connor Wilkins and Stefan Wright dropping down to the bench, being replaced by Josh Wisson and Jordan Gallacher. The Rams included ex Brickies Joe Taylor, Tom Loynes, George Crimmen and Ollie Gray. Luke Girt was not available as he was serving a suspension.

The Rams enjoyed some early pressure with plenty of possession but very little penetration. Despite this initial pressure, it was the home side that took the lead when Tom Carlse pounced on a stray cross field pass in the 9th minute, leaving keeper Luke Watkins with no chance. Both teams played out the rest of the half, playing some decent football. 

The second half started with the Brickies taking control and piling heavy pressure on the Ramsgate goal. Jordan Gallagher was finally rewarded for his hard work when he fired the Brickies further ahead after 54 minutes. But for the heroic performance in goal by Luke Watkins, this game would have been done and dusted but, he kept the Rams in the game and 5 minutes later Alfie Paxman got one back to set the stage for a nervous final 30 minutes. Having relinquished two match winning leads earlier in the season, the home fans were understandably apprehensive about crossing the line this time. However, once again the team, along with the usual vocal support from the home fans kept the Rams at bay and the final whistle secured an away game against Tonbridge Angels in the next round.


Ken Medwyn

 Back to Match Reports

Score Summary

Sittingbourne: Carlse (9 mins)
Gallacher (54 mins

Ramsgate: Alfie Paxman (72 mins)

Att: 88

Match Officials

Referee: Mr James Simpson

Assistants: Mr Alasdair KIng
Mr Vick Caspar


Sittingbourne FC

Ben Bridle-Card
Tom Brunt (Yellow)
Conrad Lee
Danny Rumbol
Jono Richardson
Jack Steventon
Hicham Akhazzan (Yellow) (Wright 63 mins)
Josh Wisson (Embery 88 mins)
Jordan Gallacher
Miles Cornwell
Tom Carlse

Connor Wilkins
Steven Ita
Jake Embery
Mark Chiverton
Stefan Wright


Luke Watkins
Jake McKenzie
Peter Wedgeworth
George Crimmen (C)
Ollie Gray
Tom Chapman (Paxman, 46 mins)
Tom Loynes (Yellow)
Kane Smith (Salisbury, 37 mins)
Macauley Murray
Joe Taylor (Camp, 59 mins)
Aaron Millbank

Alfie Paxman
Niall Salisbury
George Camp (Yellow)
James Tonkin
Jake Munday

Recent Matches